idreamlikealot

Just another WordPress.com site

Is Emily Thorne the New Sydney Bristow?

on August 27, 2012

Short Answer: No. Sydney Bristow is my boo.

Long Answer: She definitely has the potential to be.

Nobody will ever be more of a kick-ass chick for me than Sydney Bristow (I’m sorry, I haven’t seen Alien, so chill out on the Sigourney Weaver in Alien comments, ya’ll). Jennifer Garner is pretty much a goddess in my estimation and has been ever since the pilot episode of Alias. I think Alias was probably the first television show, and probably only one of a subsequent few, that I latched onto IMMDIATELY. By the end of the pilot episode, when they left it on a cliffhanger, I was like “OH NO YOU DIDN’T!” and the pilot was like “OH YES I DID!” and in the second episode they did it again and I was like “OH NO YOU DIDN’T AGAIN!” and the second episode was like “Get over it already…”

I still can’t find the words to describe my love for that show or Jennifer Garner. She was my first girl crush ya’ll! And she shall always be #1 in my heart.

In case you’re curious (I know you are) my other girl crushes include Jessica Biel, Emily Blunt, and… YOU GUESSED IT, Emily Van Camp!

SEGWAAAYY!!!

Emily Van Camp, formerly of everyone’s favorite crunchy CW show Eeverwood, is now gracing the world with her presence on ABC’s fantastically devious Revenge. I don’t think I’ll explain to you the premise of the show as it’s probably somewhat obvious based on the title. Emily Van Camp plays the main character Emily Thorne and I’ll tell you what – although she isn’t a super spy like Sydney Bristow, she speaks chinese AND knows karate. She’s like Sydney Bristow’s kid sister who lives in the Hamptons and thwarts evil in silk evening gowns. Now many of you devoted readers might call my attention to the fact that Sydney Bristow already has a kid sister, but who says she can’t have two?? One sister works for the CIA, one works for a South American version of the CIA, and the other fights crime amongst the rich and well connected. Sound perfectly plausible to me.

Seriously though, Emily Van Camp/Emily Thorne is likable for pretty much all the same reasons Jennifer Garner/Sydney Bristow is likable. They have that girl next-door vibe that is totally disarming and feels very genuine and innocent. Like, how can you NOT trust them? That vibe subsequently legitimizes all morally ambiguous decisions they make and actions they take. Otherwise we wouldn’t give a crap and we wouldn’t watch their respective shows.

Maybe Emily Thorne isn’t the next Sydney Bristow, but they definitely come from the same ilk. AND I ADORE THEM BOTH FOR IT.

Leave a Reply

