idreamlikealot

Just another WordPress.com site

Introversion… huh.

on December 1, 2011

This is not dream or story related, but I was linked to an interesting blog about introversion today. It was 10 Myths about Introverts. I would count myself among the introverted crowd though I am most definitely not the most introverted person you’ll ever meet. I enjoy social interaction and have gotten better and better at it over the years, naturally, along with becoming more comfortable with, and confident in, myself.

I shall list some of these myths and, if necessary, how I relate.

Myth #1 – Introverts don’t like to talk.
This is not true. Introverts just don’t talk unless they have something to say. They hate small talk. Get an introvert talking about something they are interested in, and they won’t shut up for days.

–> I wouldn’t say I hate small talk, but I am not particularly good at it. I would much rather get to the point and talk about something of content.

Myth #2 – Introverts are shy.
Shyness has nothing to do with being an Introvert. Introverts are not necessarily afraid of people. What they need is a reason to interact. They don’t interact for the sake of interacting. If you want to talk to an Introvert, just start talking. Don’t worry about being polite.

–> This is a mite more extreme than I think applies to myself, but I would agree that if  you just start talking to me, engage me, that’s as much motivation as I need really to start talking.

Myth #3 – Introverts are rude.
Introverts often don’t see a reason for beating around the bush with social pleasantries. They want everyone to just be real and honest. Unfortunately, this is not acceptable in most settings, so Introverts can feel a lot of pressure to fit in, which they find exhausting.

–> I agree. Real and honest. Be yourself. And yes, in certain social situations, around certain people, I feel more pressure to fit in and be cool. That being said there are also friends of mine who, if I’m around them, I feel comfortable being myself. The perception of having a social ally can be very powerful in comforting my occasional social anxiety.

Myth #4 – Introverts don’t like people.
On the contrary, Introverts intensely value the few friends they have. They can count their close friends on one hand. If you are lucky enough for an introvert to consider you a friend, you probably have a loyal ally for life. Once you have earned their respect as being a person of substance, you’re in.

–> I completely agree with this statement with nothing else to add.

Myth #5 – Introverts don’t like to go out in public.
Nonsense. Introverts just don’t like to go out in public FOR AS LONG. They also like to avoid the complications that are involved in public activities. They take in data and experiences very quickly, and as a result, don’t need to be there for long to “get it.” They’re ready to go home, recharge, and process it all. In fact, recharging is absolutely crucial for Introverts.

–> This is why I get so overwhelmed at H&M. I already suck at picking out clothes, shopping stresses me out, I have to be mentally in the right place to successfully go shopping. And as he says, recharging is key. I need less of it now than I probably used to, but can’t a girl just get some alone time?! Or at least some chillaxing time!

Myth #9 – Introverts don’t know how to relax and have fun.
Introverts typically relax at home or in nature, not in busy public places. Introverts are not thrill seekers and adrenaline junkies. If there is too much talking and noise going on, they shut down. Their brains are too sensitive to the neurotransmitter called Dopamine. Introverts and Extroverts have different dominant neuro-pathways. Just look it up.

–> Is there someone who DOES relax in busy public places?? The part of this that I identify with is sometimes I DO shut down if there is too much stimulus. Related to my former example with H&M. There are so many clothes, so many people, it’s just hard to keep up my energy and focus on the task at hand.

I might also add to this list something about Purpose. It is alluded to in Myths 2 & 3. Social interaction is not the only indicator of introversion. When I go to the mall by myself, I need a purpose. Like last week I was looking for something to wear to Thanksgiving. And I knew I wanted to start at the Gap. That was my purpose and it just so happens I found what I needed. Had I not, I would have moved on to another store. Mind you, with the same purpose, just slightly altered. I can’t go to the mall and browse. I can make it a purpose to browse for something in particular, but for some greater purpose – like finding a refrigerator. Doing research for a future visit at which time I will be prepared to buy. (However, browsing for a purpose is a dangerous because it can quickly turn to actually purchases which can burn one’s wallet over time!! haha)

Ok enough of that. I’m an introvert. I’m not frckin isolated from the world, but as you might see in my dreams and stories, I tend to get a good amount of stimulation and entertainment from my own weirdo brain!

Tata for now!

Leave a Reply

