idreamlikealot

Just another WordPress.com site

Every Dream is Special… Sort Of.

on November 24, 2011

What makes a dream memorable?

Welp, sometimes it’s hard to pinpoint exactly why. The end.

For realz though, I think the dreams I find most memorable are those that follow the same principles as my favorite movies. I’m not saying that my most memorable dreams are LIKE my favorite movies. But rather those that have a simple plot, relatable characters, and an emotional core that is truly moving, whether negative, positive, or somewhere in between.

This is why I turn some of my dreams into stories, because they do sometimes have thematic elements to them. I guess my brain is just wired, possibly trained, to dream that way. This isn’t to say that my dreams always make sense, cause we all know dreams can make absolutely no sense. Objects, people, and scenes can dissolve into something completely different in the blink of an eye.

It’s also important for dreams to be simple. An overly complex dream is tiring. If the first dream I had is the one I want to remember, it can totally fall by wayside under the memory-weight of the ca-gillion other subsequent dreams I may have that night. So the simpler the better. In this instance, it’s also dumb luck. Sometimes you just can’t control how much you dream in a night. Unless you wake yourself up after a goodie. Which I can do… but generally prefer not to because sometimes waking yourself up in the middle of the night makes you lose sleep and be more focused on falling back to sleep rather than remembering your dream.

IMPORTANT NOTE: It requires some effort to remember your dreams. You can’t just have them and wake up in the morning and expect to remember them 8 hours later. When you wake up, keep your eyes closed, don’t move, and review the dream over and over again until you have a good grasp on it. So you know what’s also the worst? When you’re woken up suddenly, say by an alarm, and quite literally don’t have time to lay in bed and remember your dream. 

But I digress. I guess if I had to boil it down to a few factors I would say the dream has to be simple and emotional. It has to spawn further thought and consideration (beyond dream analysis). It’s like reading a book or watching a movie. If you’re not hooked in the first 5 or 10 minutes it’s probably just average. That doesn’t mean it isn’t entertaining, or that it is completely lacking in value, but in THIS GIRL’s head, average ain’t worth writin’ down.

 

Leave a Reply

