idreamlikealot

Just another WordPress.com site

4 Thoughts

on November 22, 2011

4 thoughts to discuss:

  • Dream: “I like you too much to actually be with you.”
  • It’s the worst when I get lost in a dream, and then it changes, and I can’t revert back. Damnit.
  • Alien abductions are waking dreams but are still scary as shit.
  • ADDITIONAL ITEM: writing by hand v. computer

Item #1: Dream

So the other night I had a dream where I was hanging out with someone for like an hour or more and we were having a really good time, really connecting, and then I had to go somewhere because we were at some convention maybe, and I had to run an errand for the boss lady. So then as I’m just finishing this errand they come up to me again and tell me that they really like me, but we can’t be together because they like me too much. What??? I don’t get it. I’m trying to imagine this situation in the real world and the only way I can make sense of it is that a person, or two people, like each other THAT MUCH, the would become sort of slaves to one another? Maybe some maturation needs to be done? Some independence and identity searching? I don’t know. It was pretty bitterwseet though in the moment.

Which leads me to my second thought…

Item #2: Getting lost in a dream, literally.

Isn’t it the worst when you’re having a dream where you’ve travelled somewhere, reached your goal perhaps, or you’d just like to stay where you are, but you’re in a mall or something, so as you go looking for the next store to hit up the scene starts to change into a cave system or a theme park and you can’t retrace your footsteps because everything keeps changing no matter which way you go? The WORST.

Item #3: Alien Abduction

So I’ve read that people who say they’ve been abducted by aliens have actually experienced a particularly disorienting form of dreaming. Dreams occur during the REM cycle of sleep. During this time brain activity is the same as when you are awake.  When you sleep you are largely paralyzed. Many people who claim to have been abducted by aliens claim that they could not move while the aliens stood over them, took them up into their spaceship, performed experiments on them, etc. So the theory behind this phenomena is that these people are technically asleep, but are slightly more conscious than dreaming (eyes may be open and senses registering sounds, smells), and still paralyzed. Sounds scary as shit no matter how you look at it. I was afraid for a time when I was younger to roll over in bed because I thought an alien would be standing there. Same with ghosts. Though to be fair, I’m still sort of afraid of ghosts. Though more afraid of shadows and body-less whispers. Ewwgghhhh gives me the chills just thinking about it.

Item #4: I like writing long hand

And boy can it take a long time. I don’t know completely why, but I enjoy writing my stories long hand. It feels more organic I guess. Sometimes, if I haven’t written in a while, I’ll feel the urge to write something. It may resemble a journal or may be a weirdly meta paragraph about the fact that I’m writing about writing and I’m being meta about it. When I write my stories its not formatted like a story, it’s really just my brain thinking through the story. It’s not particularly creative, it’s just a REALLLY long thought. Also, if I DO attempt to format the story and get into real creative writing, the formatting is much easier. Sure, the computer does it all nice and perfect, but I have to use this shortcut and click that box, and then move it all back for the next paragraph. This complaint is more in reference to screenplays which have very specific formatting requirements. And I do have a general interest in writing screenplays. I’m tentatively attempting to adapt The Seventh Tower series by Garth Nix. I’ve outlined it into 3 films (it’s a 6 book series) and I think I’ve got some decent character development and story arcs. So writing screenplays in long hand results in lots of pages because of the formatting. So in that regard long hand vs. computer is kind of 6 of 1, half a dozen of another.

Leave a Reply

